Forever 51: What it’s all about

Image courtesy of renjith krishnan at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Image courtesy of renjith krishnan at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

My teenage daughter favours buying clothes at Forever 21. I favour clothes from Talbots. A friend’s teenaged daughter dubbed Talbots, the Forever 51 store. Ouch. Funny, but not so much on further reflection.

What is she implying exactly? That women of a certain age, okay, in their 50s and gasp, 60s or 70s, are trying to stay forever young with the clothes they choose to wear? I like the clothes because they’re usually well-made, affordable, conservative but not too and there’s a good mix of business and casual styles. And it’s one-stop shopping. I’m in, I try on, sometimes I buy and I’m out. If I wanted to, I could order online but that just seems like more of a hassle than it’s worth at this point. That may change, but for now I’m a bricks-and-mortar clothing shopper.

Are there broader implications for my prickly reaction to the sarcastic renaming of a favourite store? And how are the musings about Forever 51 and the purpose of this post linked?

Image courtesy of Salvatore Vuono at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Image courtesy of Salvatore Vuono at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

A sense of purpose
Part of this week’s assignment was to describe what my personal blog was about. We worked a bit on this in class and then we were off to the races. Initially I was flummoxed. What exactly was this blog about? I haven’t been having trouble coming up with topics to write about. This was a creative exercise that I relished. But the topics did seem to be all over the map in terms of subject matter.

Then it hit me. This blog is about reflecting back a world that I don’t encounter often enough in either traditional or digital media. Me. The middle-aged 50-something married working mother of two who has power of attorney for a parent with Alzheimer’s. A smart, curious mama bear who loves to go to the hockey arena or lacrosse field as much as she loves to go to dance competitions, the ballet, the art galleries and the theatre.

I love to discuss books, politics, media, films, and music (rock, country, opera and everything in between) for a start. Being a lifelong learner (hence this course) is as important as thinking about retirement and how, as a cancer survivor, I can give myself the best opportunity to make it there and thrive.

Photo courtesy of Anna Quindlen website

Photo courtesy of Anna Quindlen website

A complex voice
I thought about Pulitzer-Prize winning journalist Anna Quindlen’s “Public and Private” columns from the 1990s in the New York Times when I thought about my blog. I want to replicate that type of social commentary. So, me, is a little complicated. Complex. Interested and engaged in communities, both near and far. And I know I’m not alone. There are legions of us out there, many awake at 3 a.m. (thank you menopause) trying to make sense of the day that was and the day that lies ahead.

The intent of this blog then is clear: to give a voice to the legions of intelligent, interesting Forever 51s, wherever they may be.

And how do I measure success? If readership and public conversation increases. With Forever 51s and 21s and everyone on either side or in between.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Forever 51: What it’s all about

  1. satinderh says:

    I think it’s great that you will be using your blog to reflect back on things in life. Since you’re so engaged with your children’s lives and interested in the arts, I am pretty sure your blog will be very fun to read!

  2. Susan Emigh says:

    …and at some point it will be Forever 61….

  3. Susan Rankin says:

    Change the store name to Fabulous 51!!!

  4. Susan Bishop says:

    Shelley, you have captured the essence of the joy of life. I now shop at Forever 61 and looking forward to shopping at Forever 71 along with the friends I have made along the way who are from Forever 21 shoppers right on up to Forever 81 shoppers ( seriously). They all bring joy into my life.

  5. Liz allen says:

    As a still in my 40’s gal who shops at Talbot’s, I snorted when I read the Forever 51 comment. Quick wit kid! It is the age thing; just as our teens and young adults hate feeling restricted because they are young, it sticks in our craw when we are dismissed because we are old (especially when we don’t feel old). I love your posts Shelly.

    • shellyeaston says:

      Thanks for reading along! I know it’s true but I can’t believe I am “old.” It’s like our mothers always said — they still feel young in their heads. I know I do. Anyone else?

  6. This is such a fabulous post! Bravo. Love your sense of humour!

Leave a comment